Forgot Password?  
Welcome ::
Common Core State Standards/Smarter Balanced Assessments Practice Tests


The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) were developed through a state-led initiative to establish consistent and clear education standards for English language arts and mathematics that would better prepare students for success in college, career, and the competitive global economy.

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

Common Core State Standards Important Links

Parent Resources for the California Common Core State Standards (Handbook and Brochure)



The Smarter Balanced Practice/Training Tests are now available for grades three through eight and grade eleven in English-language arts and mathematics. The tests provide a preview of the Smarter Balanced assessments, but do not reflect the full range of content that students may encounter on the actual assessments during the field test in April 7--May 16. No score reports are generated from the Practice Tests.

An individual user account is not required to take the Practice Tests. Use the GUEST login and session when prompted.

Smarter Balance Practice/Training/Field Tests

Smarter Balanced Assessement Links

Test Administration (TA) Resources 

Survey Input for the SBAC Field Test